« Ind. Law - More on: Fighting foreclosures and mortgage fraud | Main | Courts - Connections between Kentucky fen-phen and priest abuse cases »

Wednesday, May 09, 2007

Ind. Courts - An update on the Indiana Court's case management system

As the ILB reported on April 8, 2007:

News has been sparse on the progress in implementing the Indiana Court's case management system. Since the announcement of a vendor Nov. 6, 2006, there has in fact been no news - the official site has not been updated.

There was this item in the March 3rd Bloomington Herald Times:

Indiana’s plan to launch a statewide case management court system will start with help from Monroe County.

The Indiana Supreme Court hopes to link all courts and clerk offices across the state, and it approached Monroe County to serve as the initial test site.

Now, several months later, we have another item in the Herald Times
Monroe Circuit Court Judge Kenneth G. Todd has been appointed to the Indiana Supreme Court’s Judicial Technology and Automation Committee, and Court Administrator Bonnie Austin has been appointed to the committee’s Case Management System Project Governing Board.

Both were appointed by Indiana Supreme Court Justice Frank Sullivan Jr., who chairs JTAC on behalf of the Supreme Court. The court formed JTAC in 1999 to provide leadership, governance and implementation of technology in Indiana courts.

Judge Todd is one of seven Indiana judges appointed to the committee. [ILB - see note below]

JTAC is overseeing a large technology project as the Supreme Court recently [ILB - on Nov. 6, 2006] contracted with Tyler Technologies Inc. to implement a statewide case management system. The system will link proceedings and records for all Indiana courts and county clerks.

The Monroe Circuit Court was recently selected as an initial test site for the system. Plans are for the pilot phase of the program to be implemented before the end of this year. [ILB - emphasis added]

Austin’s work with the System Project Governing Board will include guidance and assistance to JTAC during the implementation of the system as well as other technological projects.

Todd has served on the Monroe County bench since January 1979 and is presiding judge of the Monroe Circuit Board of Judges.

Austin has been the Monroe County Circuit Court administrator since November 2000.

Here are the current JTAC members (in addition to Justice Sullivan), according to the listing on the JTAC website:
Hon. Paul Mathias, Vice Chair
Indiana Court of Appeals

Hon. Cynthia Ayers
Marion Superior Court (Civil Division #4)

Hon. Sherry Biddinger-Gregg
Knox Circuit Court

Hon. Christopher Burnham
Morgan Superior Court #2

Hon. Jeffery Dywan
Lake Superior Court (Civil Division #7)
Crown Point

Hon. Michael G. Gotsch
St. Joseph Circuit Court
South Bend

Hon. Frances C. Gull
Allen Superior Court
Fort Wayne

Posted by Marcia Oddi on May 9, 2007 04:27 PM
Posted to Indiana Courts