« Ind. Courts - More on "LaPorte deputy prosecutor shot" | Main | Ind. Courts - "Two Jeff annexations hang in the balance" »

Tuesday, December 30, 2008

Ind. Courts - Changes in Marion county courts [Updated]

Jon Murray has a useful story today in the Indianapolis Star on the upcoming changes to Marion County courtrooms:

A massive shuffling is under way this week as more than a third of Marion County's elected judges prepare to join the bench or switch courtrooms.

The result will be a larger Marion Superior Court, with 36 judges. A new civil court opening this week follows the addition of three criminal courts in 2007.

Six newly elected judges, including Circuit Judge-elect Louis Rosenberg, received their black robes during a ceremony Monday.

Most have visited the courts to learn the ropes, including Kurt Eisgruber, a Republican who will oversee a major-felony court. During remarks in the City-County Building's Public Assembly Room, the former deputy prosecutor and private attorney said his new role will require a new approach.

"I must temper the (public's) outrage with recognition of the burden of proof the state must bear," Eisgruber said.

Indiana Supreme Court Justice Theodore Boehm presided over the swearing-in ceremony for Rosenberg and 16 Superior Court judges, including incumbents, who will begin new six-year terms Thursday.

Among changes coming to the Superior Court system:

Judge-elect Timothy Oakes and outgoing Circuit Judge Theodore Sosin -- moving to Superior Court -- will oversee civil courts. New Judges Marc Rothenberg and Kimberly Brown, the sister of Judge Linda Brown, will preside over criminal courts.

Judge-elect James Osborn will move to his permanent D-felony post after filling in for major-felony Judge Grant Hawkins while he is on suspension, awaiting possible removal, in a disciplinary case. Osborn expects the state Supreme Court to appoint another temporary judge for Hawkins' court.

Judges Patricia Gifford, John Hammel, Kenneth Johnson and Gary Miller will step down at the end of their terms.

Eight sitting judges plan moves to different courts, including Lisa Borges to major-felony, William Young to traffic and Tanya Walton Pratt to probate.

The presiding-judge position on the executive committee will pass next month from the Democrats to the Republicans for a two-year term.

[Updated 12/31/08] See this story by Jon Murray, headed "Six Marion Co. judges sworn in."

Posted by Marcia Oddi on December 30, 2008 09:42 AM
Posted to Indiana Courts