« Ind. Courts - Case filed by ACLU yesterday against BMV poses interesting administrative law / rulemaking question | Main | Ind. Decisions - Another opinion today from the Supreme Court »

Thursday, June 21, 2012

Ind. Courts - Two justices and four appellate judges must stand for retention this year

Two justices and four appellate judges must stand for retention this year. That is, if they wish to be retained for a 10-year term. Under IC 33-25-2-2, relating to appeals court judges:

A judge who wishes to be retained in office shall file a statement with the secretary of state, not later than noon July 15 of the year in which the question of retention of the judge is to be placed on the general election ballot, indicating that the judge wishes to have the question of the judge's retention placed on the ballot.
Who must stand for retention in 2012, if they wish to continue in office?

Two of the five members of the Supreme Court: Justice Steven H. David and Justice Robert D. Rucker. Justice David (appointed 10/18/10) would be standing for his first 10-year term, Justice Rucker for his 2nd (appointed 11/1/99). Justice Mark S. Massa is not yet eligible for retention, as 2 years have not passed since the date of his initial appointment (4/2/12).

Four members of the Court of Appeals must stand for retention in order to continue in office: Judges John G. Baker, Michael P. Barnes, Nancy H. Vaidik and Paul D. Mathias. Judge Martha B. Wentworth of the Tax Court is not yet eligible to stand for a 10-year term because she took office 1/17/11. (The other new COA-level judges, Cale J. Bradford and Elaine B. Brown, stood for retention in 2010.)

So far, according to the Secretary of State's office, Justice David and Judges Baker, Barnes and Vaidik have filed. The filing deadline is July 15th and Brad King of the SOS office says "We are linked to Supreme Court's judicial retention website, which will go live July 15, I understand."

BTW, although the Supreme Court justices standing for retention will be on ballots statewide, for the Court of Appeals judges, only Judge Vaidik will be on every ballot statewide; Baker will only be on 1st district ballots and Barnes and Mathias will only be on 3rd district ballots. (The districts are explained here on the COA website.)

Posted by Marcia Oddi on June 21, 2012 01:30 PM
Posted to Indiana Courts