« Catch-up: What did you miss over the weekend from the ILB? | Main | Ind. Gov't. - "Female power: Women now top Democrats in Ind. Senate, House" -- but the accomplishment here and in other venues sadly may be fleeting »

Monday, August 06, 2012

Ind. Courts - Reminder: Governor to swear in new chief justice this morning

Justice Brent Dickson will be formally sworn in as Chief Justice of Indiana. From the news release:

A formal, public oath ceremony to swear-in Brent E. Dickson as Chief Justice of Indiana will take place at the Indiana State House on Monday, August 6th at 10 a.m. EDT in the North Atrium, 2nd Floor. Governor Mitch Daniels will administer the oath.

In May 2012, the Indiana Judicial Nominating Commission voted to appoint Justice Brent E. Dickson as the Chief Justice of Indiana. The appointment was effective immediately and within hours, Justice Dickson was sworn-in as Chief Justice by his colleague, Justice Robert D. Rucker.

The August 6th investiture is the formal public ceremony marking the change in leadership on the Court. Chief Justice Dickson was appointed to the Court in 1986 as the Court’s 100th Justice. His full biography can be found here. Dickson is only the 4th permanent Chief Justice since the constitutional amendments of 1970. (Prior to that the CJ position rotated)

The ceremony will include remarks from Governor Daniels, Indiana Judges Association President Robyn Moberly, Representative Ralph Foley, Justice Theodore Boehm and Tippecanoe County Bar Association President Patti Truitt. As the next most senior member of the Court, Justice Rucker will preside over the ceremony. The event will not be webcast live, it will be videotaped and archived to the Court’s website at a later date.

ILB: The other three chief justices since 1970 were Norman Arterburn, Richard M. Givan (1974-1987), and Randall Shepard (1987 – March 23, 2012).

For more, see this WISHTV8/AP story.

Posted by Marcia Oddi on August 6, 2012 07:52 AM
Posted to Indiana Courts