« Ind. Decisions - Court of Appeals issues 2 today (and 6 NFP) | Main | Ind. Decisions - 7th Circuit rules in student loan bankruptcy appeal »

Wednesday, April 10, 2013

Ind. Courts - Eight applicants announced for upcoming Allen County judicial position

Updating this ILB entry from March 24th (which has iiinternal links to earlier stories), the Supreme Court press office announces today:

The Allen County Judicial Nominating Commission received eight applications for an upcoming judicial vacancy. The following attorneys and judges have applied for the Superior Court, Civil Division vacancy:

Magistrate Craig Bobay
John Cowan
Magistrate Jennifer DeGroote
Laurie Gray
Carrie Hawk Gutman
Michael McAlexander
Michael Michmerhuizen
Patrick Proctor

On April 26, 2013 Judge Stephen Sims retires from his position in the Family Relations Division. State statute particular to Allen County (IC 33-33-2-39) allows Allen County Judge Daniel Heath to transfer from the Civil Division to the Family Relations Division. That means a vacancy will be available in Allen Superior Court, Civil Division.

According to Indiana law, the seven-member Judicial Nominating Commission is required to nominate three candidates for appointment to the court. The Commission is made up of Edward Beck, James O’Connor, Jr., Suzan Rutz, Angela J. Moellering, Mark W. Terrell and Jonathan C. Ray. It is chaired by Indiana Supreme Court Justice Steven David. The Commission will send the names of three finalists to Governor Mike Pence. The Governor will make the final appointment.

Interviews, scheduled for April 25th and 26th, are open to the public.

Posted by Marcia Oddi on April 10, 2013 12:40 PM
Posted to Indiana Courts