« Ind. Decisions - SCOIND posts one opinion today | Main | Ind. Decisions - 7th Circuit decides an interesting non-Indiana case today »

Friday, November 15, 2013

Ind. Gov't. - Indiana League of Women Voters joins fight against HJR-6

From the news release just issued:

The League of Women Voters of Indiana (LWVIN) announced today that it has joined Freedom Indiana, a coalition opposing the amendment to the Indiana Constitution known as House Joint Resolution 6 (HJR-6).

The amendment would permanently alter the Indiana Constitution to define marriage and would remove existing protections under law for unmarried couples and same-sex families.

"The League of Women Voters believes we should protect all Hoosiers. The Indiana Constitution should not be used to deprive any citizen of civil rights," said LWVIN President Susanne Gaudin. * * *

Freedom Indiana campaign manager Megan Robertson welcomed the League of Women Voters and its members across Indiana to the growing coalition.

"We're building the biggest group of grassroots volunteers and advocates Indiana has ever seen, and the League of Women Voters will be a tremendous partner as we move forward with that effort," Robertson said. * * *

The League of Women Voters of Indiana opposes HJR6 based on the national League of Women Voters of the United States (LWVUS) statement of position on Equality of Opportunity that reads: “The League of Women Voters of the United States supports equal rights for all under state and federal laws. LWVUS supports legislation to equalize the legal rights, obligations, and benefits available to same-gender couples with those available to heterosexual couples. LWVUS supports legislation to permit same-gender couples to marry under civil law. The League believes that the civil status of marriage is already clearly distinguished from the religious institution of marriage and that religious rights will be preserved.”

This position was revised by the National Board in January 1989, based on positions announced by the national board in January 1969, adopted by the 1972 Convention, expanded by the 1980 Convention and the 2010 Convention.

Posted by Marcia Oddi on November 15, 2013 03:34 PM
Posted to Indiana Government