« Ind. Courts - Report says Clark Co. court employees are accused of arresting someone they didn't have the authority to arrest | Main | Courts - Federal judge "scraps Chicago's ban on retail gun shops" »

Wednesday, January 08, 2014

Ind. Gov't. - "Nominating committee seeking IURC applicants"

The Fort Wayne Journal Gazette published this brief item today:

INDIANAPOLIS – A nominating committee is taking applications to fill two openings on the commission that oversees utilities in Indiana.

The positions on the Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission were created by the announcement in September by Larry Landis that he would retire this month and the resignation of Kari Bennett in November. Landis was appointed to the commission nearly 11 years ago, while Bennett served three years.

Applications are being accepted through Jan. 21. The nominating committee will then hold a public meeting Jan. 31 to interview applicants. The committee will present Gov. Mike Pence a list of six candidates.

Bennett’s term expires on March 31, while Landis’ runs out on Dec. 31, 2015.

See this ILB post from Dec. 12, 2013 for background.

Fortunately, IndianaDG has posted a complete copy of the news release:

INDIANAPOLIS – The Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission Nominating Committee is soliciting applications from persons interested in filling two current vacancies on the Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission (IURC) created by the resignations of Commissioners Kari Bennett and Larry Landis.

Applications will be accepted today [Jan. 6] through close of business on January 21, 2014. Applications must be received in the Governor’s Office by close of business on January 21, 2014. After the close of the application period, the nominating committee will schedule and conduct a public meeting on January 31, 2014 to interview applicants. The committee will present Governor Mike Pence with a list of six qualified candidates from which he will select two to fill the remainder of Bennett and Landis’ terms. Commissioner Bennett’s term expires March 31, 2014. Commissioner Landis’ term expires December 31, 2015.

Members of the nominating committee include Committee Chair Gwen Horth, Eric Scroggins, John Blevins, Larry Buell, Win Moses, and Michael Mullett.

Applications for the position may be obtained by emailing boardsandcommissions@gov.in.gov, by calling 317-232-4567, by hard copy in Statehouse, Room 206, or by visiting http://www.in.gov/gov/2682.htm. Completed applications should be returned to: Gwen Horth, Chair, IURC Nominating Committee, c/o Office of the Governor, Statehouse, Room 206, Indianapolis, IN 46204.

Posted by Marcia Oddi on January 8, 2014 08:57 AM
Posted to Indiana Government