« Ind. Decisions - Upcoming oral arguments this week and next [Updated] | Main | Ind. Gov't. - "Aged-out foster kids get safety net" though Indiana's new Collaborative Care program »

Monday, August 18, 2014

Ind. Courts - New Chief Justice Loretta Rush to be sworn in today at 1 PM

As posted here last week, Justice Loretta Rush will be sworn in as Chief Justice as the news release last week noted:

Media are invited to attend and take video/photographs. A pool feed will not be available. There is limited space.
ILB: This is a historic occasion. Until the Court was reorganized by the 1970 constitutional amendment, the title of chief justice as rotated among justices:
However, when the Indiana Constitution was amended in 1970 to change the system, Justice Norman Arterburn was selected as the court's first permanent chief justice, and served as chief justice until 1974. He served his last three years, 1974-1977, as a justice.*
Richard M. Givan was the next Chief Justice, serving in that role from 1974 until 1987, 13 years.

Randall T. Shepard was chosen to become the Chief Justice of Indiana in March 1987 and served until his retirement on March 23, 2012, 25 years.

Brent E. Dickson became Chief Justice of Indiana on May 15, 2012.

Loretta H. Rush will be sworn in this afternoon as Chief Justice of Indiana.

Posted by Marcia Oddi on August 18, 2014 07:58 AM
Posted to Indiana Courts