« Ind. Decisions - 7th Circuit decides one Indiana case today, reversing decision of SSA and District Court | Main | Courts - "SCOTUS to meet again to decide on hearing gay marriage" »

Thursday, January 08, 2015

Ind. Courts - More on: Gov. Pence appoints 3rd District citizen member of Judicial Nominating/Disciplinary Commission

Updating this post from yesterday, announcing that Gov. Pence was appointing Rudy Yakym III to the Indiana Judicial Nominating Commission, replacing Jean Northernor whose term has expired, this makes the 6 member Commission all male, except for the chair, who by law is the Chief Justice, currently Loretta Rush (who was appointed to the Court by Gov. Daniels).

During his time in office, Gov. Daniels' citizen appointments to the Commission included two women. During one period, two of the three citizen members were women. So far, Gov. Pence has appointed three men.

This post from July 26, 2010 gives a good deal of background about the Commission.

The Commission is chaired by the Chief Justice. Three "non-attorney citizen" members are appointed by the governor for three-year terms. Three attorney members are elected by the attorneys of the state. NO woman has ever been elected by her peers as an attorney member.

Posted by Marcia Oddi on January 8, 2015 10:20 AM
Posted to Indiana Courts