« Ind. Decisions - Upcoming oral arguments this week and next | Main | Ind. Courts - "Future judges, U.S. attorneys in the making" »

Monday, March 20, 2017

Vacancy on Supreme Court 2017 - Interviews begins tomorrow morning to fill the Supreme Court vacancy resulting from Justice Rucker's upcoming May retirement

Beginning tomorrow morning, Tuesday, March , at 9:30, the Indiana Judicial Nominating Commission (JNC) will commence two days of interviews. At the end of this first round of interviews, the applicants will be narrowed down to an as-yet-undetermined number, who will undergo a second round of interviews on April 17-19. At the end of the second round, the Commission will forward three names to Governor Pence.

There is no audio or video feed from the interviews, but the ILB will be reporting them for readers in real-time, as it has since 2010.

As in past years, Joel Schumm, professor at Indiana University's Robert H. McKinney School of Law, will be covering the interviews.

Who is on the Judicial Nominating Commission?

The Judicial Nominating Commission is made up of the current Chief Justice, Chief Justice Loretta H. Rush, who serves as chair, plus three lawyer members, elected by lawyers from each of the three Court of Appeals geographic districts, and three non-lawyer citizen members, appointed by the Governor, all serving three-year staggered terms. Neither the citizen nor attorney commissioners are eligible for successive reappointment or reelection.

The current citizen (non-lawyer) members are:

The current attorney members are:

For more on the past history of attorney members of the JNC, see this chart.

The Interview Schedule.

The Supreme Court has made this week's schedule available here.

Names, photos, and the complete applications of all 20 candidates may be accessed here.

In Sum

The 2017 interview process will not be their first rodeo for any of the commissioners. The three attorney members all have served at least one previous 3-year stint on the JNC. One of the citizen members, Ms. Kitchell, is beginning her second, non-consecutive, 3-year term. And the remaining two citizen members were part of the 2016 nominating process.

Posted by Marcia Oddi on March 20, 2017 08:33 AM
Posted to Vacancy on Supreme Court - 2017